Kühe vor Stall
Eltern und Kind
Ancient walls that have a story to tell.
The first documented mention of Sares dates back over one millennium. This place, protected from the outside world, was however certainly settled long before, offering humans and animals alike a safe refuge over the centuries.
892 – Sares is first mentioned in an official document with the name "Susolone" (at Sares)
1458 – the Marebbe Battle between archbishop Nikolaus Cusanus and abbess Verena from the Novacella Convent takes place just behind Sares
1587 – host of Sares Urban Rindler – eponym for Rindlergut
1652 – Rindlergut in the possession of priest Achmüller; he builds the pilgrimage church for which he burdens the Rindlergut farm with 900 gulden
1809 – Johann Huber, host in Sares, commands several battles of the Tyrolean freedom fights as the captain of the Michealsburger freedom fighters
1887 – construction of the road to Val Badia. Saalerwirt is acquired by the Tauber family and has since been owned by the family
1892 – opening of the valley road to Val Badia; Sares gets quieter
2009 – Saalerwirt is a finalist in the selection of historic guesthouses in South Tyrol
2012 – Saalerwirt is a member of the "Südtiroler Gasthaus" group
2013 – from this year on, the Saalerwirt is member of the "Idyllic Places", a collection of extraordinary locations where you can enjoy alpine hospitality at its finest.
In 2015 - the comfortable rooms in the rebuilt “imHaus” were integrated into the ***s Hotel ensemble. They offer a special kind of experience for health-conscious guests, with reduced-radiation rooms furnished with natural materials such as hand-planed South Tyrolean stone pine, linen, natural mattresses and bedding.